Southern Fried Pork Chops with Creamy Gravy

Well bust my buggy whip and pass the shine!

This is one of my favorite recipes that I have developed from growing up in the kitchens of Douglas Nursing Home and with my grandmother, Mimi.

I grew up in the South on the Mighty Mississippi River and this was a staple not only for pork chops but for chicken also.  The seasonings provide the taste but the buttermilk marinade gives it a moist, chewy finished chop that tops the moon on flavor.

To begin, I get a Ziploc bag large enough to hold the chops and enough buttermilk to coat them.  Put it all together in the bag and put that in the fridge either for a couple of hours or overnight.  When I feel adventurous or the Preacher is coming over for Supper, I add dried thyme, marjoram and black pepper to the marinade overnight and let it soak. For those that like a little spice in their life, I add cayenne pepper to the buttermilk also and let it ride.

When I am ready to begin the cooking process, I take two cups of flour, mix in the salt, pepper, marjoram, sage, paprika, sugar, chili powder and paprika into the flour with a wisk.  Drop the pork chops into the bag with the flour mixture and shake well thoroughly coating them.  Then into the hot oil!

I like using an electric skillet as I can control the temperature of the corn oil or the melted Crisco to fry the pork chops and keep them moist.  Make sure the oil is at 370 degrees before putting the chops in otherwise the coating will become mushy and not stick too well.  I flip them after about 5 minutes and put the top on the skillet to let them cook evenly.

When they are done to your liking, take them out and place on a paper towel to drain and there you have it!

Ingredients for this wonderful dish

2 cups flour

4 to 6 nice size pork chops

¼ cup marjoram

¼ cup sage

¼ cup salt

¼ cup pepper

¼ cup paprika

¼ cup chili powder

¼ cup garlic powder

1 to 2 cups butteremilk

Corn Oil or Crisco heated to 370 degrees

 

For the gravy I take out all but about a cup of the oil and use the flour for breading for the thickener.  Keep the oil hot and using a wisk, mix the flour in and keep stirring or the flour will burn.  Turn the heat down in the skillet to about 250 and add either water (2 cups or more) or milk and keep stirring until it thickens and begins to bubble.  Your gravy is done!

 

Get In Touch! I would like to know you!

